Deutsch English Français Italiano

Reservation





From a historic estate to a unique culture hotel

Investigations have shown that the estate was built next to the moated castle, which was partly destroyed in the Thirty Years' War.

The name "Reinach" first emerged in Munzingen as a result of the marriage of Hans Adam von Pforr and Maria Cleopha von Reinach. Maria Cleopha was an important figure in this family – after her second marriage she bequeathed her entire fortune to her nephew Baron Beat Melchior von Reinach.

She donated the font in St. Stephan's Church in Munzingen, which displays the date 1626 and the coats of arms of both the families von Pforr and von Reinach.
Thanks to the 250 year-long ownership of the von Kageneck family, many architectural features can still be traced today. In 1870 the estate was almost completely destroyed by fire which meant that structural renovations were necessary. Up until 1969, the entire estate - one of the largest in the region - was still fully operational.

The entire estate was restored in 1991 and reopened in 1993 as an outstanding hotel facility, combining modern art with a historical gem.

In July 2007, after two years in receivership, Schloss Reinach became the property of Beatrix and René Gessler. Their experience in hotel and restaurant management at the top segment of the market is now channelled into the structural and conceptional transformation of Schloss Reinach.

We'll celebrate the opening of the "new" Schloss Reinach, which is now distinguished by quality and diversity, with a celebratory gala event on the 5th June, 2008.